Back to All Events

Peasmarsh Festival: Early Evening Concert

  • Church of St Peter and St Paul Peasmarsh TN31 6XE (map)

Bartholomew joins Kristian Bezuidenhout, Gilles Vonsattel, Anthony Marwood, Jonian Ilias Kadesha, Richard Lester and Lilli Maijala

  • Brahms           Waltzes for piano, four hands, Op. 39

  • Schoenberg    Chamber Symphony No. 1 in E major, Op. 9 (arr. Webern)

  • Schubert         String Quintet in C major, D. 956

Schoenberg’s 1906 Chamber Symphony was ground-breaking in its modernism and even provoked a riot at one of its early performances. It is performed here in the chamber arrangement made by his pupil Anton Webern. The great ‘Cello Quintet’ was Schubert’s final chamber work. Completed in 1828 just six weeks before the composer’s death, it remains one of the most evocatively beautiful musical creations.

Click here for further information.